top of page
  • nikitapauline

School Hotelier de Tain l’Hermitage

Again, trip takes us to Tain-l’Hermitage train station. Gastronomy professor took us by car to School Hotelier de Tain l’Hermitage. It is fancy looking school. First, we sat down in teachers’ room and enjoyed croissants with coffee that our professor brought for us. The best croissant I have tasted yet, so buttery and soft. Later we joined some students who were cooking. Wearing white, thin cooking robe and plastic thingies with rubber band on our heads, we blended in with them. It was nice observing students working. Some were making jokes and acting all silly, some were trying to do everything quickly and ended up being most clumsy. They are so young and already pursue their dreams while I was standing not knowing what to do myself. It was both confusing and pleasing to see this. As for the chef, specifically for this group, he had hard and strict approach than other chefs we visited that day. He let each student to cook and taste and express their thoughts about prepared food. He thought to clean after their work and shown how to quickly and peal and smash potatoes. We were included in degustation part. These kids were preparing lunch for us later to eat, and I was hoping they would do it with pleasure. We passed other rooms as well, like baking of pastries or other tasty things. Professors were calmer on their students, probably because they were bit older and didn’t need of a strict discipline. There is also dining room upstairs where student practice their waitressing skills and professionally equipped bar for practicing bartending skills. Before craved lunch, Me and my groupmates sat down in library. So many French cookbooks divided by products, types and preferences. Students were also present there. Reading some comic books, searching some information in computer. Calm whispering in French language as passing through my ears. Then came time for lunch. We were welcomed by one of students who reached his arms to take our coats. As he was very young and short, we had to help him with this task. Other students gathered and we were seated and asked to choose drink. Not long after drinks were brought, and food was placed on the table. It was pumpkin soup and some creamy sauce on top. I cleaned my plate with bread to eat all leftovers. It was delicious. The second course consisted of mashed potatoes, cooked apples and blood sausage. Waiter took my empty plate and I was already full of tasty food, but I had to finish it with dessert. Two lovely looking cream puffs with dark chocolate sticks almost let me explode of too much food in my system. It was perfect ending. Finished last sip of wine, we said thank you and left this wonderful school to catch train. I wished I could do such studies at their age.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page